Home About Us Executives Institution News Research Contact Us Sitemap
Home > About Us > Detail ...
History of RUS :


          Rajamangala University of Technology Suvarnabhumi (RUS), one of the significant centers of education for science and technology in the central region of Thailand, was renamed as a government university on January 18, 2005 and supervised by Commission on Higher Education, Ministry of Education. The university comprises four campuses covering three provinces. Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya Huntra campuses and Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya Wasukri campuses are situated in Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya province whereas the other two campuses are in Nonthaburi and Suphanburi Provinces.Despite its recent foundation, the university has long been developed and has undergone several organizational changes, for its eminent achievement in professional education for over 30 years. Three of the four campuses were originally the vocational education colleges by the name of Ayutthaya Agricultural College, Ayutthaya Commercial Colleges and Nonthaburi Technical College under the supervision of Department of Vocational Education (DVE).
          Later in 1977, according to the Education act, the DVE’s 28 colleges were transferred to Institutes of Technology and Vocational Education (ITVE) including these three colleges. The Ministry of Education had changed the name of its educational institutes and reorganized them to form 28 campuses of the ITVE which was equivalent to a department of the Educational Ministry. Ayutthaya Agricultural Campus had been consequently under the ITVE’s administration ever since.
          In 1988 the name “Rajamangala Institute of Technology” (RIT) was awarded to the ITVE by King Bhumibol Adulyadej. In 1989 the Ministry of Education renamed RIT’s 17 provincial campuses resulting in the new names of these 3 campuses as “Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya Huntra campus, Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya Wasukri campus and Nonthaburi campus”, respectively. Later in 1995 the five new RIT’s campuses were established as the following; Chiengrai campus in the north,   Sakonnakorn campus in the northeast, Sriwichai campus in the south, Saraya and Suphanburi campuses in the central of Thailand. In doing so, the fourth RUS’s campus thus originated in Suphanburi province.
          After the promulgation of the first national Education Act in 1999 onwards, all institutes of higher education have been under the supervision of Commission on Higher Education. Therefore, the RIT reformed the RIT Act 1975 by assembling all RIT campuses and restructuring them into 9 groups before proposing the RMUT Act to establish nine universities in which the RUS was launched by reuniting Wasukri, Huntra, Nonthaburi and Suphanburi campuses and housing the office of the President based in the Huntra district.


About Us
History of RUS
The University Seal
The University Colour & Tree
Vision & Mission
RUS Organization Chart

Rajamangala University of Technology Suvarnabhumi
60 Moo 3 Asian Highway, Phranakhon Si Ayutthaya 13000
โทรศัพท์ : +66(0) 3570 9101 to 103 แฟกซ์ : +66(0) 3570 9105
Copyright (C) 2010-2011 Rajamangala University of Technology Suvarnabhumi All rights reserved.
ipv6 ready